Live to Write - Write to Live

Everyone has a different process, but I thought today I’d share how I create a story from scratch.

Sometimes I use a phrase, a feeling, a color, a photo, anything that crosses my mind or line of vision does the trick. This examples uses a word prompt — my favorite word, “ponder.”

When using a word prompt like this, I visualize my favorite snack, a s’more.

The graham cracker, the crunchy shell of the treat, is the prompt (in this case, “ponder”) and it can be both the start and end of the story, or either. The marshmallow and chocolate melt together and like the inside of the treat, the words that come from this exercise are the delicious melted insides of the story. So, here is a look at how I would take this prompt and run with it.

Here is my stream of consciousness thinking on “ponder” today:

Ver la entrada original 451 palabras más

Responder

